Purple Summer Smoothie

IMG_5591

I think I have created possibly my most favourite smoothie ever. Or maybe my second favourite smoothie….only after my beloved banana and peanut butter! But that’s still a pretty big call for me!

This little number was inspired by a smoothie I saw in a cute little café called Sunny Boy Café in Melbourne. The only thing I have changed about the smoothie is the name….they called theirs a Boy Blue Smoothie, very fitting for the café!

But the reason I have decided to change the name of this smoothie and nothing else is because a) it tastes absolutely amazing and there is no need to change any of the ingredients, b) I do not work in a café called Sunny Boy therefore Blue Boy would not be a fitting name, and c) this smoothie is a very pretty purple colour and literally tastes like summer in a smoothie! No joke. It’s good and I know I say that a lot but I do mean it, okay. I don’t just go around saying that everything I make is good because, believe me, I’ve had many disasters in the kitchen!!

Any who, here is the recipe for those of you who are interested in knowing what summer tastes like in a smoothie! You won’t be disappointed.

IMG_5578

Recipe

Berry + Mango SmoothieIMG_5571

Serves 1

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup frozen blueberries
  • ½ cup frozen mango
  • ½ banana
  • 2 large tablespoons Greek yogurt
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • ½ teaspoon cinnamon
  • Dash of milk

Method:

  1. Put all the ingredients in a blender and blend until fully combined.
  2. Pour into glasses and enjoy!

Notes:

  • Can be made with fresh fruit but I would advice adding in a few ice cubes.

IMG_5593

This recipe is very rough because I tend to not measure any ingredients when I am making simple things like smoothies. So you may need to adjust the ingredients to your liking; a little more milk, a little more honey, whatever you like. In saying so, I only use a very minimal amount of milk so it creates a very thick smoothie, so much so that you can easily use a spoon to spoon the contents out, just the way I like it!

I hope you enjoy this smoothie as much as I did!

Tanisha xx

P.S. The photos are actually of the SAME smoothie although they look like different colours because of the lighting inside and outside. The actual colour is bright purple, if you were wondering.

Leave a Reply

