Irresistible Strawberry Pancakes

IMG_5681

OH MY GOD! I may have died and gone back to heaven! These are honestly the best pancakes I have EVER eaten (contrary to the other pancake recipe I posted some time ago). YUM.

I only made these pancakes this morning but I just couldn’t resist posting the recipe so that all you lovely people could, too bask in their delightfulness!

So I’m just gonna cut to the chase….

IMG_5700

Recipe

Irresistible Strawberry Pancakes

Makes about 8 pancakes

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups wholemeal flour
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup Greek yogurt
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1 egg
  • 2 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 very large strawberries, sliced lengthways

Method:

  1. Sift the dry ingredients (flour through salt) togetheIMG_5668r into a large bowl.
  2. In separate bowl, whisk together the wet ingredients (yogurt through vanilla). Pour into the dry ingredients and mix until just combined. The mixture should be thick but not paste-like. If it seems too thick, gently stir in more milk, 2 Tbsp at a time.
  3. Let sit for 10 minutes to combine. After sitting, the batter should be fluffy.
  4. Preheat a frypan over medium-low heat. Add a spoon of coconut oil to the pan. Using a 1/4 cup measuring cup or a tablespoon, drop small scoops of the batter onto the pan. You may have to gently spread the pancakes a bit as the batter will be quite thick. Cook until bubbles form in the surface of the pancake and the underside is golden-brown. Place the cut up strawberries on the uncooked side of the pancake and flip side. Cook until golden-brown on both sides.
  5. Serve with your favourite toppings. Enjoy!

Notes:

  • I got this recipe from Coffee and Quinoa.
  • I topped my pancakes with crushed pistachios, yogurt and maple syrup.

IMG_5691

The main component of the pancake batter is definitely the Greek yogurt, which makes the pancakes super light and fluffy. One cup may sound like a lot but I promise you, it works wonders. I am seriously in love with using Greek yogurt in all my baking etc. Even if it’s not included in a recipe I always end up adding a tablespoon of it to the batter because it never fails to create a light and fluffy batter. So, I urge you to give it a go too.

Also, please try putting strawberries in your pancakes too. This was the first time I have tried it and it is probably the best idea I have ever had (or close to it). I’ve had blueberries, raspberries and bananas in my pancakes before, but never have I had strawberries and I’m so glad I did. They cooked down to a sweet gooey, jam-like consistency that is just irresistible! There really is no need for refined sugar in these pancakes. To be honest, it’s hard to remember that they’re actually healthy because they taste so good!

Tanisha xx

Leave a Reply

