The Porridge Diaries: Banana, Almond and Cinnamon Porridge

IMG_3637It seems winter is well and truly on its way, and I’ve already bored you enough in previous posts about my dislike of winter so I’m going to get straight to the point today.

Pretty much all I want to eat for breakfast throughout winter is a nice big bowl of porridge. It’s just so tasty and satisfying, not to mention, healthy too! If want to here me ramble on about the benefits of porridge I urge you to visit one of my earlier posts here.

I also love that you can experiment so much with porridge so I generally like mine just a little bit fancy, especially if I’ve got some extra time on my hands like on the weekend.

And so, I have decided that throughout this year I am going to do a series of posts called ‘The Porridge Diaries’ in which I share my love for all things porridge, plus my favourite recipes to you guys.

So to kick this series off I have a recipe for Banana, Almond and Cinnamon Porridge by the one and only….Jamie Oliver!!!! Who would have guessed?!

IMG_3629

Recipe

Banana, Almond and Cinnamon Porridge

Serves 1

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 small, ripe banana
  • 1 tablespoon flaked almonds
  • ½ teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon poppy seeds
  • 1 tablespoon honey, to taste

Directions:

  1. Place the oats and milk in a small pan over medium heat. Mash half the banana and put it into the pan, along with half the honey and cinnamon. Stir continuously with a wooden spoon.
  2. Bring to a steady simmer for 5 to 6 minutes, stirring as often as you can to give you a smooth creamy porridge – if you like your porridge runnier, simply add a splash more milk or water until you’ve got the consistency you like.
  3. Turn the heat off and add the poppy seeds, as well as the leftover cinnamon and honey to the porridge, stirring to combine. Let it cool slightly.
  4. Meanwhile, add the almonds to a small non-stick frying pan over a medium heat (there’s no need for oil) for 3 to 4 minutes, or until lightly golden, stirring occasionally.
  5. Slice the other half of the banana.
  6. Serve porridge in a medium-sized bowl with banana, almonds and a drizzle of honey.

Notes:

  • I like my porridge really creamy so I use milk to cook it, but more traditional Scottish recipes use the same amount of water and a pinch of sea salt, then finish it with a little bit of milk.
  • The lower heat you cook the porridge on, the better it will be.
  • You can use quick oats instead of rolled oats if you’re pushed for time but I think rolled oats taste far better, and have a much higher nutritional content.

IMG_3628IMG_3644

My favourite kinds of porridges usually involve bananas to some extent. I particularly love adding some mashed bananas to the porridge mixture, whilst it is cooking because they become even mushier and add the taste and creamy texture of the finished product.

I’m all about trying new things so if you guys have some awesome porridge recipes or ideas, comment below and I might feature them on my blog!

I hope you enjoy this recipe just as much as I did and let me know if you try it.

Tanisha xx

Leave a Reply

