Vegetarian Savoury Breakfast

IMG_3740

Hello all, and Happy Mother’s Day to all you cool mums out there!

I had such a great day today after getting up early for the Mother’s Day Run this morning with my family, then leisurely making my way back home to cook a big feast for our Mother’s Day Lunch. And now, I am feeling extremely tired but very accomplished.

I was hoping to do a big post on my lunch today as it was very successful but I’m not feeling up to it, so I bring you something a bit more simpler but just as good!

IMG_3761

Recipe

Vegetarian Savoury Breakfast

Serves 1

Ingredients:

  • 1 slice of sourdough or good quality wholegrain bread, toasted
  • A large handful of baby spinach
  • 2 button mushrooms, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, crushed
  • ½ teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 small avocado
  • 1 tbsp feta, crushed
  • ½ lemon, juiced
  • A few fresh coriander leaves
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon good quality dukkah*
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Method:

  1. Heat a little olive oil in a non-stick frying pan on low heat. Place the mushrooms, garlic and oregano, and cook for 5 minutes, season to taste. Remove from pan and wilt the spinach in the same pan for about 2 minutes.
  2. Boil some water in a small saucepan, with a tsp of vinegar. In a small, shallow bowl crack the egg. Place in the saucepan and cook for 2 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, in a small bowl smash the avocado, and combine with the feta, lemon, coriander and season to taste.
  4. Combine all the elements on a plate and top with dukkah.

Notes:

* I used Table of Plenty Macadamia Dukkah

IMG_3757

As I have gotten older I have noticed I have increasingly disliked meat more and more, particularly red meat, which I have never really had a taste for. Up on the top of the list of foods I dislike the most is roast with gravy, steak and fish. Yes, at times I can be a very fussy eater but when you give me something I like, I won’t stop at anything to eat it.

So this recipe was just something I came up with one morning when I was craving something healthy, substantial and savoury. It is loosely based on my family’s version of the Big Breakfast without a few of the meat, and more time consuming counter parts.

It is a great breakfast, brunch or even lunch meal for vegetarians, and omnivores alike, who want something that’s café worthy but also healthy too. It is also very well balanced with an abundance of vitamins and minerals from all the veggies, healthy carbohydrates from the bread, healthy fast from the avocado and protein from the eggs.

You sure won’t be disappointed!

IMG_3753

My dog seems to like it too!

Tanisha xx

Leave a Reply

