Vietnamese Chicken Salad

IMG_3230Winter is almost here. YAY!!!! (take note of the sarcasm)

In the past few days it has gone from the typical summer fair of singlets and thongs to ugg boots and big fluffy dressing gowns. Typical Perth weather. We don’t even get a warning; it’s all sunshine one minute and thunderstorms the next.

So with this bad weather you’d think that I would be snuggling up in my bed with a big mug of hot chocolate and a bowl of comforting soup like any normal person. But no, I’m afraid to admit it but I am in denial. Denial about what, you may ask. Well, I am in denial that summer is gone and winter is coming. I absolutely can’t stand the cold, so winter is my worst nightmare. That’s all.

Anyway, yesterday whilst I was surfing the net I came across this really cool blog called The Londoner. Now, I get a bit excited when I see a blog with lots of yummy looking recipes so, as I do, I end up screen-shotting almost every recipe on the blog and vowing to make every single one of them in the next two weeks. Fat chance of that happening, but a girl can dream.

However, there was one recipe that stood out to me, the Pad Thai Salad. I love Vietnamese food so I just had to make it today for lunch. It also sounded just like a perfect summery dish making it a great way to reminisce over the summer that was and help put me out of my miseries.

IMG_4682

This is just one of the many

I tweaked it just a lil’ bit by using zucchini instead of cucumber because we seem to have so many homegrown zucchinis that they are coming out of our ears (not literally)!! And boy are they big zucchinis!

I also added some sesame seeds for an extra crunch and omitted the spring onions just because I didn’t have any at the time.

IMG_3237

Recipe

Vietnamese Chicken Salad

Serves 3

Ingredients

  • ½ zucchini
  • 2 Large carrots
  • 1 Handful of fresh coriander
  • 1 Handful of fresh mint
  • 1 Handful of toasted peanuts (roughly chopped/smashed)
  • A little sprinkle of sesame seeds
  • A couple of handfuls of shredded chicken/beef/duck/prawn/tofu/boiled eggs/whatever you fancy!

Dressing:

  • Juice of 1 lime
  • 3tbsp Sesame oil
  • 3tbsp Soy sauce
  • 1tbsp Fish sauce
  • 1tbsp chilli flakes
  • 1tsbp honey
  • 1 Clove of garlic

Method:

  1. Start by turning your carrots and zucchini into noodles/ribbons using a spiraliser of some sort. Pop them into a large bowl with your choice of protein (chicken etc.) Snip over the coriander and mint.
  2. In a small jar make the dressing by combining all the ingredients together and shaking them up.
  3. When ready to serve the salad pour the dressing over it and toss it up. Sprinkle the nuts and sesame seeds over the top and serve.

Notes:

You can add 2 spring onions chopped up and replace the zucchini with one cucumber as the original recipe states. IMG_3245

I urge you to try this recipe and don’t even think about not adding the peanuts, they are so goooddd (but I guess this is coming from a peanut butter addict)!!

By the way, how pretty is this salad, it is just bursting with colours left right and center! So a very big thanks to The Londoner for the recipe, it definitely was a success, as one of my toughest critics, my sister, loved it, she even came back for seconds and thirds.

IMG_3218

Don’t mind my little feet!

The Lowdown:

The Vietnamese cuisine is considered one of the healthiest cuisines in the world and this dish is no exception. The use of fresh ingredients ensures that this salad is both healthy and full of flavour. It is also full of vitamins and minerals to keep you going throughout the day.

This salad would go really well with vermicelli noodles if you wanted to make it a more substantial meal. It is a great way to get your vegetables in and actually tastes really good. It is also a nice change to the usual lettuce and tomato salads that we seem to become used to!

Tanisha xx

Leave a Reply

