The Best Basic Pancake Recipe

IMG_2265Dress them up, dress them down, have them healthy, have them all year-round!

 IMG_2268

Recipe

Basic Pancake Recipe

Serves 3

Ingredients:

1½ cup wholemeal flour

1 ½ tsp baking powder

¼ tsp baking soda

½ tsp salt

½ cup Greek style yogurt

1 large egg, lightly beaten

¾ cup whole milk

 To serve (optional):

Maple syrup

Greek style yogurt

Banana

Blueberries

Figs

 

Directions:

  1. In a large bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. In another, smaller bowl whisk the egg, yogurt and milk.
  2. Combine the yogurt mixture with the flour mixture with a wooden spoon. Mix lightly and do not overwork it.
  3. Heat a frypan with coconut oil or butter on low. Pour 2 Tbs of the mixture at a time onto the pan and cook until bubbles appear on the surface, or until golden brown. Flip to brown other side.

 

Notes:

If you have the luxury of time you can leave the mix to rest for a little while. This will ensure that the pancakes are light and fluffy.

To change things up a bit you could add fruit to the mixture, like berries or banana.

 

Source: Chobani – Perfect Pancakes

IMG_2278

I may not be one of those die-hard pancake fans but these are pretty damn good. If you are unsure of what a “die-hard pancake fan” is let me enlighten you on the subject. Take my sister for example, her excuse for not going to swimming training in the morning once was because she wanted to make pancakes for breakfast because it was Shrove Tuesday (a.k.a World Pancake Day)!! Great excuse, I know, but guess what? It worked!

Maybe the reason why I’m not one of those people though is exactly that; they take too long to make! Now I’m not talking about any old pancake. When I make pancakes (which isn’t very often) I like them to be super fancy with tens of thousands of sauces and garnishes so they take 5 hours to make + 2 to present, and that doesn’t go all to well with my growling stomach and low patience tolerance in the morning.

Does anyone else suffer from extreme hunger when they wake up?? When I wake up in the morning I feel like I haven’t eaten in 10 days and if I don’t have something to eat within an hour at the very least I might as well shrivel up into a little ball (haha).

Whenever we go out for breakfast it is always at some ungodly hour of, say 9:00 am (a.k.a a very reasonable time) so I find it incredibly difficult to manage without eating something beforehand. Don’t, get me wrong; I am normally the one who actually wants to go out for breakfast, after all breakfast is most definitely my favourite meal of the day.

Anyway, what was I saying? Oh yeah, you may have noticed that these are not super fancy pancakes so they do not take hours to make, minutes at the least. You can even make the batter the night before if you’re like me and can’t be bothered sparing a few minutes to make them in the morning. They taste just as good as well so who really cares how fancy they’re not?!

IMG_2267

The lowdown:

These pancakes are super luscious; they’re light and fluffy and are so versatile. You could have them simple and healthy (as I did) or you could dress them up with salted caramel, grilled banana and ice cream, it’s up to you.

These pancakes are also a very balanced breakfast option containing protein, complex carbohydrates, vitamins, calcium and an abundance of fibre and minerals, depending how you choose to garnish them. Which is why they would make a great pre-training or competition breakfast if you have a little bit of extra time on your hands.

One thought on “The Best Basic Pancake Recipe

  1. Pingback: Irresistible Strawberry Pancakes | Eat.Sleep.Run.Repeat

Leave a Reply

